• Welcome to Fearless Friday Bulletin Boards. Please login or sign up.

 FF is powered by:        Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Need some advice, please.

Started by CoachF, January 12, 2015, 10:50:44 am

Previous topic - Next topic

CoachF

Hello everybody,

I am looking for some advice and could not think of a better place to seek it out. I am currently a sophomore at a local university and very interested in becoming a high school football coach. My question is about the teaching aspect. I am very fond of both science and history. The only problem I am facing right now is deciding at which level to teach. I am trying to decide between a degree in middle level education or secondary education. I know the coaching endorsement will work with either degree. Is it harder to become a high school coach with a degree in middle level ed? Has anybody had any experiences that would help me make an informed decision on this matter?

Thank you for all the help and advice.

Coach DePriest, Sheridan

I would suggest 7-12 vs 4-8 for 2 reasons: 1. You really want to be able to teach the kids you coach and 2. 7-12 includes that upper middle school level of 7 & 8. 

At Harrison, most of our coaches teach 7-9, and it was that way when I was at PA as well.  I enjoy teaching high school and being in the hallways and at lunch duty with the senior high football players. 

As for science vs history, more coaching positions seem to be paired up with history, but it seems more jobs are available for science.  If you enjoy science, you may opt to get the math certification.  There never seems to be a shortage of math jobs available.  I started out with physics, so the switch to math was easy because I was already taking so many math courses for that degree.

XFalkonz