• Welcome to Fearless Friday Bulletin Boards. Please login or sign up.

 FF is powered by:        Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Power lifting in AR

Started by slowntheMUD, October 28, 2010, 09:28:11 am

Previous topic - Next topic

slowntheMUD

I have been told that there is no official, sanctioned powerlifting in AR highschools. I am new to the state and find this very, very disturbing. I feel competitive powerlifting for kids is VERY important for overall improvement in all areas of athletics.

Any ideas on how to start or organizing a powerlifting season and getting it recognized by AAA?

???

SingleWingGuru

the best way to do this...

1.  Start powerlifting meets thru the state.
2.  Get area high schools to compete with teams.
3.  Repeat.

The AAA wants its hands in as many things as possible, it won't take much of doing that before they want to sanction it.  Same thing that happened with bowling.

powerlifter90

We (the powerlifters in Ark) are looking to hold a SPF sanctioned meet sometime next spring for high school athletes.  I was one of the folks that used to hold the AAU high school meets at LRAFB in the late 90's early 00's, and would love to get it rolling again.

slowntheMUD

Glad to see there is interest.

I dont know how any state could be competitive athletically without serioius powerlifting in their schools. I guess that is what Shiloh discovered this year against TX team.

Email me and I will send my contact info to anyone that can/or will help. I am also available to help in any way I can if someone else wants to take charge.

powerlifter90

Quote from: slowntheMUD on October 29, 2010, 03:08:49 pm

I dont know how any state could be competitive athletically without serious powerlifting in their schools. I guess that is what Shiloh discovered this year against TX team.

Email me and I will send my contact info to anyone that can/or will help. I am also available to help in any way I can if someone else wants to take charge.